Smells Like Columbus, Ohio

cityscene_march_cover.jpg

There was a WAY TOO SHORT fragrance article in the local metro mag today.  Only a page if you pull out the pictures, and that’s being rather generous.  You can look at the web version here.  It’s mostly about women’s fragrances, but there’s a short bit at the end about men’s scents.  Highly recommended by the writer is the always pleasant Acqua di Gio, by Giorgio Armani.

acqua_di_gio.jpg

I was surprised to read that it has been number one at that store for (at least) 7 years, according to the men’s fragrance sales associate who was interviewed for the piece.  My wife bought Acqua for me, and I have to admit that I like it a lot, although generally in phases that last about 2 weeks to a month.  My son and I like to call it “Joe Water”, for no particular reason other than to torment the wife, whose goat is easily gotten by treating luxuries lightly.  I took a bottle with me to Italy (I know, it’s kind of backwards) – it was my only fragrance, since I was looking to stock up there.  It served me well, although I bought Gucci Envy for Men at Mitsukoshi, and really fell in love with that one.

gucci_envy.jpg

Envy is currently one of my favorite scents.  It’s also really hot over at basenotes.net, where it is routinely found in people’s top five, or in various “most sexy fragrance” type polls.

Another scent I’m interested in is Armani Code.  I’m intrigued both by the name (I’m a coder) and by the heavy rotation that the ads seem to get in SI Latino (click here for your free copy).  I think there’s an excellent chance that I’ll like Code even better than Acqua, so it’s definitely on the wish list.

armani_code.jpg

This is my first post using Windows Live Writer.  It’s been a good experience so far.  I think this will be a nice way to build up blog posts when I’m offline.

OK.  Time to take out the trash.  We have to smell other things, if we want to truly appreciate the good smells in life.

This entry was posted in Blogging, Fashion, Fragance, Hobbies, Travel. Bookmark the permalink.