The perfume book you can’t miss. – By Jim Lewis – Slate Magazine

perfumes_the_guide.jpg

For those of us who consider any journalism less fragrance-oriented than Basenotes to be “mainstream media”, here’s an excellent mainstream review of Turin & Sanchez on Slate:

The perfume book you can’t miss. – By Jim Lewis – Slate Magazine

I have to admit that I found this review of the guide almost completely by accident.  I was lurching around on MSN after following up a couple of links dealing with (paraphrased) – (1) why horses are euthanized for broken legs [Sadly, now you see why animals and people are actually different], (2) what’s the big deal about Miley Cyrus photos?  [As if!  Hannah Montana is the real scandal!], and (3) a book reviewer who can’t quite get her head around Christians who love Jon Stewart [I’m not making this up.]  I feel guilty about loving Slate.  Yes, it’s intelligent reading.  But the 5% failure to understand flyover land is both hilarious and scary.  Oh, well.  I suppose the feeling is mutual.

I’ll let the review of T&S speak for itself.  You may or may not like it.  Personally, I thought it was great.  The author is clearly a fellow perfumisto, but he appears to bring as much objectivity to the article as is humanly possible for somebody who loves fragrance.

Enjoy!

This entry was posted in Books, Fragance, Fragrance Reviews, Hobbies, News and politics. Bookmark the permalink.